How to use DataviewJS to provide filtered lists of tags in vault, not pages with tags?

What I’m trying to do

Using DataviewJS to return a list of the nested tags that exist in my vault, but filtered to only a few level 1 roots.

Example:

In the vault, there are the following tags
#Food
#Food/Burger
#Food/Burger/Cheese
#Food/Burger/Cheese/American
#Food/Burger/Cheese/Cheddar
#Food/Burger/Cheese/Swiss
#Food/Royal
#Clothes
#Clothes/Kilts
#Clothes/Pants
#Clothes/Shirt
#Clothes/Socks
#archive
#_system

I need a list output that would show (with or without the # sign) as:
#Food
#Food/Burger
#Food/Burger/Cheese
#Food/Royal
#Clothes
#Clothes/Kilts
#Clothes/Pants
#Clothes/Shirt
#Clothes/Socks

It would also be extremely helpful to list sub-levels, such as starting with #Food/Burger/Cheese to get a list like this:

Things I have tried

I’ve been trying to figure out how to list tags for a week, but I’m not a javascript programmer and all of my google-fu yields the many ways you can use tags to get lists of pages. None of the documentation for Dataview has led me to believe that it can even see a list of tags, but I’m hoping this is where javascript changes what is possible…

1 Like

This is what I use:

```dataviewjs
const fields = {}
Object.values(app.metadataCache.metadataCache)
  .forEach(x => {
    (x.tags || [])
      .forEach(y => fields[y.tag] = -~fields[y.tag])
  })

dv.header(3, 'Tags')
dv.list(Object.keys(fields)
  .sort((a, b) => a.localeCompare(b))
  .map(x => `${x} (${fields[x]} notes)`))
```

(although I sort by number of notes descending. For anyone who’d prefer that way, change the sort line to be .sort((a, b) => fields[b] - fields[a]) instead.)

To filter for your specific tags, before the .sort line add:

.filter(tag => tag.startsWith('#Food') || tag.startsWith('#Clothes'))
1 Like

Thank you for the snippets!