How to choose when to use which linking method(s)?

Hi, all! I’m a newbie to this forum, and to Obsidian – but not to note-taking.

I’ve just imported about 5,000 notes from Joplin (which were previously imported to Joplin from Evernote), and am working on cleaning them up and starting to link them up.

But I’m getting stuck on knowing when to make a MOC, how far to take linking related notes, etc.

For instance, I’m guessing that if I link all the related notes from within each other, if there are more than 2 or 3, that will start to get unwieldy, with needing to go back and forth and add everything to everything else.

Right now, I’m working heavily with tags, because that’s what worked in Evernote and Joplin. And I know Obsidian can do so much more, but I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around when to use hashtags, when to use manual links between notes, and when to use MOCs.

For instance, if I have 32 notes on B vitamins, and they’re all tagged as such (#Bvits), is there any value in creating a MOC? Or am I just as well off to simply search for that hashtag when I want everything? I don’t want to duplicate all my hashtags as MOCs, right?

Can someone help me grasp this, conceptually? (I’ve spent about 2 days watching YouTube tutorials and reading, and this is just not clicking.)

Most of my notes fall into a handful of types:

• book notes/highlights (copied in from Kindle, or manually typed up if it was a print book)
  • articles pasted in from the web
  • simple quotes (like you might find at someplace like brainyquote.com)
  • stuff I wrote on Facebook that I might want to reuse, or develop and expand into blog posts, etc.
  • random individual notes, like “peppermint repels mice” or “so-and-so recommended thus-and-such a book for thus-and-such a topic.”
5 Likes