File content sometimes gets lost if obsidian is closed right after editing

I often close obsidian right after I finish editing a note. And sometimes the file content gets deleted.
Here is a screen recording:

I didn’t find any similar topic. Maybe this one may relate to this: Obsidian deletes the content of the last saved note

1 Like

The file content doesn’t get deleted. The last characters are lost because you quickly quit before Obsidian can save to disk what you just wrote. Press Ctrl/Cmd-S or wait.

No, the entire file content gets lost. You can see it in the screen recording (at second 17). After I close Obsidian, the entire file content is lost, even that which was already there when I opend Obisidian the second time.

I am unable to reproduce your video.

Post a screen recording of this happening in the sandbox vault and also provide the debug info (command palette->debug info)

I reproduced it in the sandbox. I reproduced it before I started to record therefore I start with an almost empty file. In this video it happens right at the first try. And then again at the end.

This is the debug info:

SYSTEM INFO:
Obsidian version: v1.0.3
Installer version: v0.15.8
Operating system: Windows 10 Pro 10.0.22621
Login status: not logged in
Insider build toggle: off
Live preview: on
Legacy editor: off
Base theme: dark
Community theme: none
Snippets enabled: 0
Restricted mode: on

RECOMMENDATIONS:
none

Ok, this is pretty weird. If you download and reinstall Obsidian (to update installer version), are you still able to reproduce?

It happened again in the sandbox after a few tries.

The currend debug info:
SYSTEM INFO:
Obsidian version: v1.0.3
Installer version: v1.0.3
Operating system: Windows 10 Pro 10.0.22621
Login status: not logged in
Insider build toggle: off
Live preview: on
Legacy editor: off
Base theme: dark
Community theme: none
Snippets enabled: 0
Restricted mode: on

RECOMMENDATIONS:
none

thanks you, we’ll look into it.
Is there anything special in your system? Is your filesystem local?

Yes, it has a local file system. I have Synology Drive installed, which is a software for file synchronization between my PC and my NAS. But the sandbox vault is not synchronized, so it is most probably not the cause for the error. Just now I also tried to close Synology Drive and then I also could reproduce it.

I just tried it on my other PC, I was able to reproduce it there, too.

Debug info here (Here I had opened my main vault, not the sandbox):
SYSTEM INFO:
Obsidian version: v1.0.3
Installer version: v0.15.9
Operating system: Windows 10 Pro 10.0.19045
Login status: not logged in
Insider build toggle: off
Live preview: on
Legacy editor: off
Base theme: dark
Community theme: none
Snippets enabled: 0
Restricted mode: off
Plugins installed: 8
Plugins enabled: 8
1: Dataview v0.5.47
2: Advanced Tables v0.17.3
3: Templater v1.14.3
4: Pauls Plugin v1.0.0
5: Obsidian Git v2.6.0
6: Pandoc Plugin v0.4.1
7: Commander v0.2.1
8: URI Commands v1.0.0

RECOMMENDATIONS:
Community plugins: for bugs, please first try updating all your plugins to latest. If still not fixed, please try to make the issue happen in the Sandbox Vault or disable community plugins.

thanks we can reproduce.

1 Like

Save time of large, 100-500kb, .md files may take a few seconds.
If, in usual way, close Obsidian in this time period there is a small probability of interrupting of save process and wiping of file content.
Unfortunately problem is exacerbate by file size growth and number of installed plugins. From extremely rare coincidence to practical need to remember that you can close program only after 2-5 seconds past any edit actions. Otherwise, unlikely but probably, next time it will open last edited files as totally empty. It creates unnecessary paranoia.
It seems that when Obsidian is closing there is an instant shutdown of all its functions instead of some time gap of confirmations that all files in the process of saving were completely saved.

Fix please! This is a critical bug - software is unreliable!