Dragging Already Created Notes

Hi,

I am new to using note apps, i have been a long time note taker though. My workflow is create a folder for a project, anything realted to the project goes in the folder. Could be .txt .pdf .doc .xls .png .html usually after the prject is complete the folder can contain a lot of stuff. Each year i take that years projects and put it in a folder of that year 2020, 2021, 2022 each year there are projects that are exactly the same or nearly the same as a previous project from anorher year, all these folders are on windows desktop, i simply search the “desktop” for a topic pertaining to the project and can find enough data to get me started on the new project. However lately with win11 and years of project folders its getting harder to zero in on specific things i am look for.

The question: Is there a way in Obsidian to have it recognize the difference between files types?

I am currently createing a notebook, naming it like i could the project folder, opening the real folder i am currently working on and dragging all the stuff into the notebook.

However the results are not so great. I am getting basically a list of same colored links that are not really distinguishable from each other and some images ir screen shots that are able to read.

The problem is a url is the same as a txt a doc is the as a pdf, i have to look at hundred of extensions, rather be able to scan trough the norebook looking for a pdf and simply find it by looking for a little pdf icon or a color of the text itself.

Does this make sense?

I watch a bunch if vudeos and have like every addon running and none have worked out. I am hoping there is something i am missing.

Best,
T

I think your user name explains some possible issues you may be having. :o

1. It sounds like you may need a general file search/organization tool for disparate file types with different names. I use Everything for that. It doesn’t search contents though.