Document "date" and "id" (as metadata)

I am very new to Obsidian, I found about it and decided to use it as a basis for a knowledge management system. I have my own knowledge management system. It is much much more complex than Zettelkasten, though it DOES share some features with the Zettelkasten system.

Being a noob, I currently have 2 problems integrating obsidian with my system.

1. document “id”

Each “note” or “document” has a document id composed of 8 random characters eg. #r95h4by2 … Now I know about the “unique id” feature but I want Obsidian to assign a new 8-character id to each newly created document INSTEAD of the usual time stamp. I want all inter-linking to be done with these id’s instead of document name and also want Obsidian to keep track of all “taken id’s” so it doesn’t re-assign a used id.

2. document “date”

I am currently digitizing many of my hand-written notes. The problem is: I want the “digitized notes” (the ones in Obsidian) to have a “date field” that points to the date the hand-written note was created and not the date of creation of the MD file. I have dates on my hand-written notes and I want to “fill them in” as metadata fields possibly so that I can search and filter by dates and date ranges later on, as well as do some other tasks related to the chronological order of the notes.

In short: I want a way to control a “document’s date” other than the built-in one which tracks the date at which the digital file was created/last modified - this will be used for searching and filtering purposes.

There could be simple solutions to my problems that I am completely oblivious to, so please point me out. If not, I guess I’ll have to write my own plugins then. Thanks!

For the document ID I think you’ll have to write a plugin (but search the community plugins first, just in case).