Dataview JS for Spell Lists

I am very new to Dataview but see its power. I want to create a Data view that makes a Table of files. I would also like to be able to filter by requiring it to have the Tag SRD or the Line [[SRD]]

{class}

spell Components Casting Time Concentration Range
{document title} {Components.Text} {Casting Time} {Concentration} {Range}+{Range Type(if not undifined)}

{level} 1st Level Spells

spell Components Casting Time Concentration Range
{document title} {Components.Text} {Casting Time} {Concentration} {Range}+{Range Type(if not undifined)}

The Frontmatter that I have is

---
tags:
 - Spell
 - SRD
cssclass: 5Espell
Level: 0
School: Conjuration
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 60
Range Type: undefined
Components:
  Text: V, S
  Verbal: true
  Somatic: true
  Material: 
Duration: Instantaneous
Concentration: True
Higher Levels: false
Class: 
 - [[Sorcerer]]
 - [[Wizard]]
Links:
 - [[Spell]]
 - [[SRD]]
---

This would then repeat for each level and then each Class

Hi.

Two questions:

1. Why JS and not a DQL query? Any particular request?
  2. Do you know how to start? (Why I ask this: I can try to give you the solution - in sql - but do you learn something from the acquired query?)

https://blacksmithgu.github.io/obsidian-dataview/

1 Like

Honestly, I guess my green bits are showing.

I don’t know why dataviewJS v DQL(honestly assuming this is Dataview Querry Language).

I am working on building a Dynamic D&D ruleset. I am using this to learn some of the deeper and nitty-gritty bits of dataview and obsidian. So honestly I don’t know the best solution.

It is not lost on me that I am green and asking for something very detailed. Maybe the better question is what are some of the best resources to learn where to start.

I’d suggest any of the posts by @mnvwvnm on Dataview! They’ve been helpful to lots of us, along with the documentation at thie link posted above!