Database Folder Formulas with if statement and select property

Hello,
I am new to Obsidian, and am not a programmer. I am migrating from Notion, where I had figured out how to create formulas with if() statements. I am trying to recreate this in Obsidian, but cannot find a tutorial on how to write formulas in that plugin. The documentation on Github is very minimal and seems to assume coding knowledge. Could someone please point me to where I can learn to format these formulas? The if() statement needs to evaluate the value of a select property on the same row. This is my last attempt before I go back to Notion…it seems Obsidian only works well for programmers (all the tutorials on YouTube are created by people who seem to know js…). Thank you in advance for your help!

Can you try to explain a bit more what you need the if statements for? The solution might be specific to your needs. You might want to take a look into dataview as a precursor to db folder since db folder is essentially a limited dynamic dataview.

Just for example, here you might have many different templates which contain dataview lists/tables/calendar queries which are quite simple to learn. DB folder is also quite new in development, so it might feel a bit bare coming from Notion. Give this plugin some time and explore other options as well.

Off the top of my head, the choice function for dataview is an if statement choice(boolean, if true, if false) and this can be used in dataview queries, which can be made exceptionally custom to pretty much any need you could need. Let us know what you need and I’m confident someone can help you!