Counting & Grouping by Child Tags

Hello! I am new to Obsidian / coding and I’ve been trying to scour for a solution. I think I’m close, but I can’t seem to figure out this last step.

What I’m trying to do

I am using Obsidian as a dream journal and am trying to use dataview and tags to see patterns. I want to create a table that counts the number of Child Tags that are utilized throughout the journal. In this instance, I am trying to count the number of times specific characters appear. The issue I am having is that it is counting every combination of Child Tags as “1.”

Example:
“Character/Coworker” = 1
“Character/Coworker” and “Character/Nephew” = 1

When it SHOULD be:
“Character/Coworker” = 2
“Character/Nephew” = 1

Things I have tried

I have tried looking through the user guide and I found similar topics on grouping by regular tags, which works for tags without children, but am having difficulties with the child tags. I do use Tag Wrangler but would like to eventually incorporate this into data I can collect by the month in their respective categories that only pulls from the journal section.

The below is what I have as of now. Any assistance or insight would be appreciated!

TABLE 
    length(rows.file.name) as Count 
FROM #Character AND "03. Dream Journal"
FLATTEN array(
    regexreplace(
    filter(file.etags, (t) => startswith(t, "#Character/")),
        "#Character/(\\w+)",
        "$1"
    )
) as Character
GROUP BY Character

I’m a little unclear on what you really want, that is if you want to count every nested tag in your vault, or just the second level of the #Character/... tags, so let us present options for both! :slight_smile:

First a note on file.tags vs file.etags

If in a file you’ve defined: tags: simple, not/so/simple, it’ll return different stuff into file.tags and file.etags, and it’ll be as shown in this list:

• file.etags : #simple, #not/so/simple
  • file.etags : #simple, #not/so/simple, #not/so, #not