Complete data loss on last active note when opening vault this morning

I’ve been using Obsidian daily for many months now and love it. But this morning, when I opened it again, the 6000 word note I had open last when I closed it last night was now empty, except for the heading which had synced over automatically with the Filename Heading Sync plugin. The other open notes seem fine.

My setup is as follows:
Obsidian v0.15.9 (installer version v0.14.6) on Windows 10
Active core plugins: Backlinks, Command palette, File recovery, Note composer, Page preview, Quick switcher, Templates
Community plugins: Advanced Tables, Filename Heading Sync, Hider, Paste URL into selection, Sliding Panes (Andy’s Mode), Style Settings

My vault has always been stored on a shared and mapped network drive (SMB share on UnRAID), which has worked fine up until now.

So I have two questions:

• Is there anything I can do to get that data back? I’ve tried the file recovery, but I can’t see older versions, only the last changes from the empty file to me typing a few words of what I could remember in a panic. I don’t have a recent backup of that file but am currently making a manual one of the whole vault as a precaution.

• I can begrudgingly accept losing that file (should have kept better backups), but what can I do so this doesn’t happen again? Apart from copying my vault onto my local device, because I’m sharing the vault with someone else who needs access to it.

Hi there,

I had a similar problem! Opened Obsidian up on my desktop this morning and a very large note which had a lot of work gone into it had no text in it. I closed it down and opened my mobile app and briefly the text in the note appeared, before disappearing again. Would really appreciate any help as to why this happened - a bug maybe?

My setup:
Obsidian v0.15.9 (installer version: v0.15.9)
Active core plugins: backlinks, command palette, daily notes, file recovery, note composer, page preview, quick switcher, sync