Can I use PKM for hobbies and crafts?

Hi everyone! I’m knew to the whole PKM scene and trying to wrap my mind around it. I’m also trying to figure out if PKM is even something that would benefit me.

In my research, most of the tutorials, guides and walk-throughs are heavily geared towards people who are interested in knowledge management–which makes sense! This seems to be such a new field that the people who are interested in using software to manage their knowledge would be interested in…knowledge management. Fair enough. However I’m wondering if this would benefit me as well.

I’m an amateur woodworker, even more of an amateur chef, and an intermediate film editor. Would Obsidian benefit me? It’s hard to see how these three things really overlap. I really do need a space where I can keep track of all the new things I learn, but I’m struggling to use Obsidian already. I really WANT to link ideas together but I’m having a hard time visualizing how its going to work ultimately.

Is this normal? Should I just jump and see what emerges?

Of course I"m sure I’ll be interested in all sorts of other things for the rest of my life. But right now I have a few broad interests that I would like to take notes on.

Thanks to everyone who has made a tutorial, guide or how-to on Obsidian. I’m really hoping I can make use of it.

Yes to both. I use Obsidian mostly for work (economic analysis) and personal development goals (journaling, personal goals and values). I have limited interest in PKM as a study itself - I just want the tools. I really struggled with the same problem you cite, and still do from time to time. I’ve started a few vaults from scratch as I realize problems I’ve built in by copying others methods too closely.