Can dataview display context information like query?

Hi, I am a beginner for obsidian and dataview.

The following is my use case:

I have a lot of notes that tagged with #todo.

Now I’d like to filter all #todo in the vault and show them in the index.md.

For example,

index.md

```query
#todo
```

The query will filter all the #todo occurrences which include context preview that embedded in my note.

However, this method doesn’t seem to recognize YAML metadata, like:

---
created: "2022-09-30 03:20"
title: todo
tags: [todo]
---

So I want to use dataview instead, e.g.

```dataview
table
from #todo
```

However, dataview cannot display context preview.

My question is that

1. Can the query language recognize files that just contains tags in metadata?

2. Can dataview display context information like query language?

Very thanks!

Dataview works with metadata, not the full content. You can use inline fields, tasks or bullet lists to play with some specific “content”. For example:

## inline fields

summary:: Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Curabitur eu magna id est interdum euismod id at lectus. Aliquam aliquam, lectus at cursus volutpat, mi libero malesuada enim, in iaculis augue elit ut tellus. Aenean dignissim lorem non urna tempus sollicitudin.

## bullet list
- Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Curabitur eu magna id est interdum euismod id at lectus. [field:: todo]
- Aliquam aliquam, lectus at cursus volutpat, mi libero malesuada enim, in iaculis augue elit ut tellus. Aenean dignissim lorem non urna tempus sollicitudin.

## tasks
- [ ] this is a task with a #todo

About the query way, I think that’s no possible. But also, what kind of context you image to see if the wanted tag is placed in frontmatter and no in the content? Preview what? Some lines before and after?

I have not tried inline fields, tasks or bullet lists. Thank you for telling me this information. I will look into it.